So, I was checking out a site I recently discovered which you should check out called GodBit which is a community of Christian web developers and designers dedicated to creating quality content that is standards compliant… Hey! That is one of the things I am all about!
Long story short, I ran across one of the member’s sites that was hosted at Christian.net, my first web host (at the time, and perhaps now still, they offered 5mb free hosting and POP email — something hard to come by… I even talked the owner into letting me have a mysql database). Quite a long time ago I ditched my site at posborne.christian.net for my current domain (hosted with a more solid domain service now) of posborne.net.
I decided to check if my site at http://posborne.net/ still existed… it did. Things looked normal and I was actually pretty impressed at what I was able to accomplish at the time (with my limited knowledge of things). The hit counter is still counting, the design looks decent, and the guestbook is still very operational.
You see, sometime between when I launched the site (some time before May of 2004… my Junior year of high school), and now the spam bots got ahold of the guest book and left me several thousand million advertisements for viagra and other sorts of scams. Lovely.
I will be seeing if I can rid my lovely first host of the mass of mysql entries, but before then go ahead and check out the madness yourself. DO NOT CLICK ON ANY OF THE LINKS!.
As a warning, it took me about 15 minutes for all the spam to load when you can see the 10 or so legitimate entries.
Interestingly, on my next guestbook I put the question: “What is Paul’s first name?” as a form field and did not receive a single spam message ![]()
I would like to introduce my current and newest development project photoFusion. PhotoFusion is a image gallery application using many of the newest technologies such as php5, sqlite, xml (using php5’s simpleXML), and AJAX.